Internet explorer not showing all tabs in domain environment.

I went to a user yesterday and due to security policies it would not show the programs tab or connections tab in internet options.

I considered editing the registry key to access the locked down tabs.

Then it occurred to me to navigate to the system32 folder and run internet explorer from there as an admin.

It then showed all the tabs and let me associate the correct programs with the links the client was trying to access.

 

I also noticed I could not see the mail icon in his control panel.

To get around this I went to the program shortcut and right clicked it to access the profile.

 

I have often found IT security have locked down the command prompt and it will not run even when you try to runas.

To get around this go to the system 32 folder and make a copy of the cmd to the desktop and then rename it something like hh.exe

Now when you right click this and run it as an admin it works.

Hope this helps someone else in the future.

 

About brettwilliams2wp

An IT professional who loves learning new things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment